Various – The Secret Museum of Mankind – Guitars Vol. 1: Prologue To Modern Styles LP


If you know, you know…. this is the series that took us down many a rabbit hole and first introduced us to the music of A. Kostis and Frank and His Sisters and we are very psyched that a new volume is finally here!! Curated by 78-rpm record collector Pat Conte, The Secret Museum of Mankind – Guitars Vol. 1: Prologue to Modern Styles, is the first new volume in the legendary series since 1998. It is also the first volume of the Secret Museum to focus on a specific instrument, the guitar. This new Secret Museum volume seeks to show the diverse range of guitar sounds and styles developed and practiced across the globe. Guitars Vol. 1: Prologue to Modern Styles presents guitar and guitar related music, recorded across the world from Spain, to Papua New Guinea, Greece to Ghana to India and more. The collection is drawn from Conte’s pioneering and remarkable personal collection of 78-rpm discs, recorded in the 1920’s-1950’s.

The LP includes a beautiful gatefold package and a liner notes booklet by curator Pat Conte, original drawings of rare and unique guitars in Conte’s collection, by artist Jeff Tocci, and beautifully remastered audio by Don Fierro. Additionally, the interior gatefold design features a selection of historic images of guitarists, also curated by Conte and drawn from his collection.
“After hours and hours of intense listening, it is safe to say that one could take one’s complete education in authentic world music right here… The historical significance of these releases goes without saying, and the quality of the music is enormously high. Mr. Conte has lovingly culled his collection for tracks that would best represent each genre. The listener is rewarded with new insights and revelations with each visit, indeed, this IS a museum. The cumulative effect is inspiring and it is almost impossible not to be transported in one’s imagination to the various places and times represented by these tracks.” – Michal Shapiro

Varasto loppu

Osasto: Avainsanat tuotteelle ,


Esittäjät ja kappaleet:

A1 Oudi Jorghi – Vlach Longassi
A2 Guillermo Gomez – Guajiras
A3 Jack Gregory – Minore Tou Teke
A4 Sam – Kweku Ewoosi
A5 Giuseppe Cammarato – Recordi?
A6 Jeronimo Villarino – Sevillanas
A7 Pierre Borel, Polo Quilici – Complainte Corse

B1 Cuarteto Aguilar – Fiesta Mora En Tanger
B2 Dakshina Mohan Tagore, Sujit Nath – Ragini ”Pilu”
B3 Ramón Montoya, Amalio Cuenca – Solea
B4 ”S. Giorgiadis” – Pireotiko Taximi
B5 Maestro Pasquale Taraffo – Serenatella Spagnuala
B6 Agustin P. Barrios – Marcha Paraguaya
B7 Moses Zwe-Zwe – Khumbula Ubaba
B8 Les Frères Joyal – Petit Boogie
B9 Anonymous – Guitar Players Papua New Guinea


Julkaisija: Mississippi Records





Paino 0.238 kg
Mitat 32.5 × 32.5 × 0.5 cm